Planning Commission

The Planning Commission reviews and approves development proposals for compliance with the City Zoning Ordinance. The Planning Commission is also responsible for adopting the City’s Master Plan and making recommendations to the City Council on zoning ordinance amendments.

Meetings are typically held the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers. The Planning Commission is made up of nine (9) members appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council.  All terms are for three (3) years.  Members of the Planning Commission shall be qualified electors (a United States citizen who has attained the age of 21 years, who has resided in the State of Michigan for at least six (6) months and in the City of Romulus for at least 30 days) that are representative of important segments of the community such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry, and commerce. The membership is also representative of the entire geography of the city. Members are compensated at a rate established by resolution of the City Council pursuant to Chapter 2, Article IV, Division 1, Section 2-96 of the Romulus Code of Ordinances.

Cathy M. Freitag, Chairperson (Term expires 1/31/22)
Celeste Roscoe, Councilwoman (Term concurrent with Council term)
Daniel McAnally, Vice Chairperson (Term expires 1/31/23)
Adewunmi Gbogboarde (Term expires 1/31/24)
Jerry Frederick (Term expires 1/31/24), Representative to Board of Zoning Appeals
Mike Glotfelty (Term expires 1/31/24)
James Crova (Term expires 1/31/23)
Edna Talon-Jemison (Term expires 1/31/24)
David J. Paul, Secretary (Term expires 1/31/22)

Planning Commission Rules of Procedure

Planning Commission Agendas & Minutes

Planning Commission Packets

2021 Planning Commission Meeting Dates

Planning Commission Public Hearing Notices