Historical Commission


  • 6 pm
  • 3rd Wednesday of every month
  • Kingsley House
    11147 Hunt Street
    Romulus, MI 48174


The Commission consists of seven members, four of which are appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council, and three members selected by the Romulus Historical Society and approved by City Council. All members serve a term for two years pursuant to Chapter 2, Article IV, Division 3, Sections 2-145 - 2-154 of the Romulus Code of Ordinances.

  • Mark Lewkowicz, Chairman
  • Sheldon L. Chandler, Vice Chairman
  • Gerald B. Wendland, Secretary
  • Terrell Bird
  • William Crane
  • Lucinda Rhoton
  • Virgil L. Varner


The purpose of the commission is to foster an understanding and appreciation of local history. The Commission identifies local preservation concerns and makes recommendations for future use.